Welcome to the webpage for Sonic Overload. As my regular listeners know by now, I play punk, hardcore, garage and other loud music, although there are surprises from time to time as well as decidedly slanted commentary on the “issues of the day” and that’s also presented through song selections and audio clips.


All of the shows from January 2009 to the present are archived for download at sonicoverload.blogspot.com. And check out the Facebook page.


Send any music (vinyl or CD) for possible airplay to:


Sonic Overload

Al Quint

PO Box 43

Peabody, MA 01960

E-mail: subvox82@gmail.com


DECEMBER 10, 2018

      Pete Shelley, one of the founding members of Buzzcocks, died of a heart attack last week at the age of 63. I was absolutely floored by the news, as was just about everyone else I know with even a passing interest in the type of music that’s been a part of my life for over 40 years. I first heard them in early 1978, with the “What Do I Get” single. From there it the “Love You More” single and Singles Going Steady album and thus started a lifelong love affair with this band. So, of course, this week’s show goes out in his memory and I play some of my favorite ‘Cocks tracks from over the years. Rest In Peace, Pete…



To stream or download, click on each link...


Track 1

Track 2

Track 3

Track 4




BUZZCOCKS-Fast Cars (United Artists) in memory of Pete Shelley


BUZZCOCKS-Boredom (New Hormones)

BUZZCOCKS-Breakdown/Love Battery (from “The Roxy London WC2,” Harvest)

BUZZCOCKS-What Do I Get? (United Artists)


BUZZCOCKS-Oh Shit (United Artists)

BUZZCOCKS-Fiction Romance (United Artists)

BUZZCOCKS-Autonomy (United Artists)


BUZZCOCKS-Real World (United Artists)

BUZZCOCKS-Nothing Left (United Artists)

BUZZCOCKS-ESP (United Artists)




FLOWER-Distraction From Atrocity (demo)

Q-DQQR (Lumpy)

ZODD-Dystopian Future (La Vida Es Un Mus)

CHAIN WHIP-Let’s Bomb East Van (Neon Taste)

HAIRCUT-Boy’s Club (Feel It)

SEM HASTRO-Quem São Vocés (Hysteria)

SKINNED ALIVE-Forced To Die (demo)


SBF-Tarantula Hawk (Neck Chop)

HALLELUJAH!-Terror At The Post Office (Maple Death)

PERVERTS AGAIN-Brute In The Bathroom (Non-Commercial)

SAURIANS-Ivy (demo)

FAG COP-Nailed It To The Cross (Rank Toy)

GASENETA-Rehabilitation (PSF)


HAPPY FLOWERS-They Cleaned My Cut Out With A Wire Brush (Homestead)

CHINESE STARS-Eyes Of The Secret North (Skin Graft)

BOSS HOG-Some Sara (Amphetamine Reptile)

VERTIGO-Big Black Bugs (Amphetamine Reptile)




KAILA STONE-Olive Calling (from “Raise Your Voice Joyce,” Static Shock)

SILLA ELECTRICA-Es Lo Que Hay (from “Sound The Alarms,” Maximum Rocknroll)

WLMRT-Deathsticks Ruined My Life (from “Killed By Meth #3,” It’s Trash)

PENETRODE-Death-Life (Neck Chop)

KNOWSO-King Of Things (Neck Chop)

NOTS-No Novelty (Goner)


CHRONIC SUBMISSION-Bad Trip (Schizophrenic)

CODE OF HONOR-People’s Revolution (Subterranean)

SICK PLEASURE-Disintegration (Subterranean)

BELCHING PENGUIN-Blow Your Mind (Burrito)

SUBVERSE-Religious Lies (from “The Hysterical Years ’86-’90,” Manic Ears)


EX-CULT-Shattered Circle (Goner)

BEASTEATER-Slight Oversight (Big Neck)

SLIMY MEMBER-Bomb Blast/Age Old Time (Drunken Sailor)

FLESHIES-You’re All Doomed (Alternative Tentacles)

FUCKED UP-Last Man Standing (Deranged)




BUZZCOCKS-I Don’t Know What To Do With My Life (United Artists)

BUZZCOCKS-Hollow Inside (United Artists)

BUZZCOCKS-Are Everything (IRS)


PETE SHELLEY-Sky Yen (Groovy)

PETE SHELLEY-Homosapien (Genetic)

PENETRATION-Nostalgia (Virgin)

AMERICAN NUDISM-Fiction Romance (demo)

YEASTIE GIRLZ-Orgasm Addict (Lookout)


BUZZCOCKS-I Believe (United Artists)